IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Notice!

Please take a minute to check our Frequently Asked Questions. Use Search to reveal possible related topics.

Also make sure you've read the Forum Guidelines before posting in this forum.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Remedy to unwanted \\ field split, please, V2.49
chrisjj
post Feb 25 2012, 21:00
Post #1


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 1500
Joined: 25-October 05
Member No.: 2273
Mp3tag Version: -



If on V2.49 I edit a field containing "\\" in the mail panel, Mp3tag changes "\\" to ", " and ALT+T shows the field has been split.

This is HIGHLY UNDESIRABLE e.g. causes this:

http://forums.mp3tag.de/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=62055

I really cannot see why Mp3tag interprets a pre-existing \\ as a request for a field split. Please would it not do so, and thereby preserve the \\ unchanged . On an option, if necessary.

Thanks.

This post has been edited by chrisjj: Feb 25 2012, 23:12
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JJ Johnson
post Feb 28 2012, 20:32
Post #2


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 890
Joined: 18-April 05
Member No.: 1742
Mp3tag Version: 2.64a



QUOTE (chrisjj @ Feb 25 2012, 13:00) *
I really cannot see why Mp3tag interprets a pre-existing \\ as a request for a field split.


How should it know that it was "pre-existing"? That gets messy trying to figure out what existed prior to editing a field.


QUOTE
Please would it not do so, and thereby preserve the \\ unchanged . On an option, if necessary.


The option should be to allow users to designate a different character string to be used for splitting fields.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisjj
post Feb 28 2012, 22:26
Post #3


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 1500
Joined: 25-October 05
Member No.: 2273
Mp3tag Version: -



QUOTE (JJ Johnson @ Feb 28 2012, 19:32) *
How should it know that it was "pre-existing"?


The fact it was present before the edit.

QUOTE (JJ Johnson @ Feb 28 2012, 19:32) *
That gets messy trying to figure out what existed prior to editing a field.


Agreed, esp. where there's a mixture of preexisting and newly entered.

QUOTE (JJ Johnson @ Feb 28 2012, 19:32) *
The option should be to allow users to designate a different character string to be used for splitting fields.


And no character string to be used for splitting fields.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2014 - 23:49