IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Notice!

Please take a minute to check our Frequently Asked Questions. Use Search to reveal possible related topics.

Also make sure you've read the Forum Guidelines before posting in this forum.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Multiple values: Mp3tag & Foobaar2000, Values set in Mp3tag don't work, the other way around does
Harm
post Apr 28 2009, 10:04
Post #1


Member


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 28-April 09
Member No.: 9964
Mp3tag Version: v2.43



I have a problem regarding the use of multiple values in Mp3tag (v2.43) en Foobar2000 (v0.9.6.5).
In Foobar I've add multiple values in the Publisher field (mp3 file with ID3v2.4) and they show up in Mp3tag, separated by a double backslash (\\), so this seems to work well. If I try it the other way around, it doesn't seem to work at all: Foobar seems to recognise the first value (what is before the double backslash I entered in Mp3tag), but not the others. So it seems Mp3tag saves them using a separator that Foobar cannot recognise. Is this due to a problem (bug?) in Mp3tag or in Foobar? And more important: is there a work around?

(I've also posted this question in the Foobar discussion forum: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....t=0#entry630379 )

This post has been edited by Harm: Apr 28 2009, 10:06
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Florian
post May 2 2009, 08:05
Post #2


Developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 7807
Joined: 12-December 01
From: Germany, Dresden
Member No.: 203
Mp3tag Version: 2.71



This seems to be an issue with foobar2000 as you've correctly identified.


--------------------
♫ If you like using Mp3tag please donate to support further development.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
incifinci
post Jun 11 2015, 13:32
Post #3


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 3-December 07
From: Hungary, Budapest
Member No.: 6040
Mp3tag Version: 2.71



I use the next workaround. I use for writing only mp3tag, but I must to use foobar too, for calculating replay gain and bpm (bit per minute) values, and writing them in tags. Because of foobar bugs with multiple values of MP3 tags, in these files I use " / " (without quote) as a limiter between values in COMPOSER, ARRANGER, ARTIST, LYRICIST, CONDUCTOR, PUBLISHER tags.

When I must to use foobar for writing tags:
FLAC: absolutly no probleme, of course.
MP3: I have an action in mp3tag to change all 6 (COMPOSER, ARRANGER, ARTIST, LYRICIST, CONDUCTOR, PUBLISHER) "fals" limiters (" / ") and 2 (GENRE, LANGUAGE) real limiters ("\\") to temporary else (i use "_DPL_"). After I did writings of RG and BPM in foobar, change them back. Important: manually refreshing in mp3tag after changes in tags with foobar!

These mp3tag actions:
Merging MP3 tags before foobar.mta
CODE
[#0]
   T=5
   F=COMPOSER
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%composer%, / ,_DPL_),%composer%)
  
   [#1]
   T=5
   F=ARRANGER
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%arranger%, / ,_DPL_),%arranger%)
  
   [#2]
   T=5
   F=LYRICIST
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%lyricist%, / ,_DPL_),%lyricist%)
  
   [#3]
   T=5
   F=ARTIST
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%artist%, / ,_DPL_),%artist%)
  
   [#4]
   T=5
   F=CONDUCTOR
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%conductor%, / ,_DPL_),%conductor%)
  
   [#5]
   T=5
   F=PUBLISHER
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%publisher%, / ,_DPL_),%publisher%)
  
   [#6]
   T=8
   F=GENRE
   1=_DPL_
  
   [#7]
   T=8
   F=LANGUAGE
   1=_DPL_


Changing MP3 tags back after foobar. FIRST REFRESH!.mta
CODE
[#0]
   T=4
   F=TRACK
   1=(\\d{1,3}).*
   2=$1
   3=0
  
   [#1]
   T=5
   F=COMPOSER
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%composer%,_DPL_, / ),%composer%)
  
   [#2]
   T=5
   F=ARRANGER
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%arranger%,_DPL_, / ),%arranger%)
  
   [#3]
   T=5
   F=LYRICIST
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%lyricist%,_DPL_, / ),%lyricist%)
  
   [#4]
   T=5
   F=ARTIST
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%artist%,_DPL_, / ),%artist%)
  
   [#5]
   T=5
   F=CONDUCTOR
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%conductor%,_DPL_, / ),%conductor%)
  
   [#6]
   T=5
   F=PUBLISHER
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%publisher%,_DPL_, / ),%publisher%)
  
   [#7]
   T=5
   F=GENRE
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%genre%,_DPL_,\\\\),%genre%)
  
   [#8]
   T=5
   F=LANGUAGE
   1=$if($eql(%_tag%,'ID3v2.3'),$replace(%language%,_DPL_,\\\\),%language%)
  
   [#9]
   T=1
   F=_FIELDNAME
   1=2
   2=

(A FooBar képtelen kezelni a többszörös mezőket, még az engedélyezett hármat se (előadó, szerző, szövegíró). Megoldás: Ha FooBar-ban kényszerülök címkét írni, előtte lecserélni a 6 személy (COMPOSER, ARRANGER, ARTIST, LYRICIST, CONDUCTOR, PUBLISHER) "ál"-határolóit (" / ") és a 2 valódi határolót (GENRE, LANGUAGE) egyaránt ideiglenes másra, ugyanis íráskor a FooBar valódira-rosszra (";") cseréli, s ekkor adatok tűnnek el. Van rá műveletem (az ideiglenes határoló "_DPL_").)

This post has been edited by incifinci: Jun 14 2015, 23:00
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
incifinci
post Jun 11 2015, 19:39
Post #4


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 3-December 07
From: Hungary, Budapest
Member No.: 6040
Mp3tag Version: 2.71



I wrote:
QUOTE
When I must to use foobar for writing tags:
FLAC: absolutly no probleme, of course.


It was a mistake: there ARE problems with handling FLAC tags in foobar, too. So I use (similar as above) these 2 actions in mp3tag:

Merging FLAC tags before foobar.mta
CODE
[#0]
    T=8
    F=COMPOSER
    1=_DPL_
    
    [#1]
    T=8
    F=ARRANGER
    1=_DPL_
    
    [#2]
    T=8
    F=LYRICIST
    1=_DPL_
    
    [#3]
    T=8
    F=ARTIST
    1=_DPL_
    
    [#4]
    T=8
    F=CONDUCTOR
    1=_DPL_
    
    [#5]
    T=8
    F=PUBLISHER
    1=_DPL_
    
    [#6]
    T=8
    F=GENRE
    1=_DPL_
    
    [#7]
    T=8
    F=LANGUAGE
    1=_DPL_



Changing FLAC tags back after foobar. FIRST REFRESH!.mta
CODE
[#0]
    T=5
    F=PUBLISHER
    1=$if($and($eql(%_extension%,flac),$grtr($len($meta(organization)),0),
$not($grtr($len($meta(publisher)),0))),
   $meta_sep(organization,\\\\),$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$meta_sep(publisher,\\\\),%publisher%))
    
    [#1]
    T=5
    F=ORGANIZATION
    1=$if($and($eql(%_extension%,flac),$eql($meta(organization),$meta(publisher))),,
$meta_sep(organization,\\\\))
    
    [#2]
    T=5
    F=COMPOSER
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%composer%,_DPL_,\\\\),%composer%)
    
    [#3]
    T=5
    F=COMPOSER
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%composer%, / ,\\\\),%composer%)
    
    [#4]
    T=5
    F=ARRANGER
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%arranger%,_DPL_,\\\\),%arranger%)
    
    [#5]
    T=5
    F=ARRANGER
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%arranger%, / ,\\\\),%arranger%)
    
    [#6]
    T=5
    F=LYRICIST
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%lyricist%,_DPL_,\\\\),%lyricist%)
    
    [#7]
    T=5
    F=LYRICIST
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%lyricist%, / ,\\\\),%lyricist%)
    
    [#8]
    T=5
    F=ARTIST
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%artist%,_DPL_,\\\\),%artist%)
    
    [#9]
    T=5
    F=ARTIST
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%artist%, / ,\\\\),%artist%)
    
    [#10]
    T=5
    F=CONDUCTOR
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%conductor%,_DPL_,\\\\),%conductor%)
    
    [#11]
    T=5
    F=CONDUCTOR
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%conductor%, / ,\\\\),%conductor%)
    
    [#12]
    T=5
    F=PUBLISHER
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%publisher%,_DPL_,\\\\),%publisher%)
    
    [#13]
    T=5
    F=PUBLISHER
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%publisher%, / ,\\\\),%publisher%)
    
    [#14]
    T=5
    F=GENRE
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%genre%,_DPL_,\\\\),%genre%)
    
    [#15]
    T=5
    F=LANGUAGE
    1=$if($eql(%_extension%,flac),$replace(%language%,_DPL_,\\\\),%language%)
    
    [#16]
    T=1
    F=_FIELDNAME
    1=2
    2=


Caution: there are NO line breaks after commas!

This post has been edited by incifinci: Jun 13 2015, 11:25
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DetlevD
post Jun 13 2015, 19:30
Post #5


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 5759
Joined: 26-May 06
From: Wuppertal, Germany, Planet Earth
Member No.: 3194
Mp3tag Version: 2.71



QUOTE (incifinci @ Jun 11 2015, 20:39) *
... problems with handling FLAC tags in foobar ... Because of foobar bugs with multiple values of MP3 tags ...

I am not aware of file resp. tag-type related problems between Mp3tag and foobar, please elaborate.

DD.20150613.2030.CEST




--------------------
* Beyond that, don't ask, when you don't know what to do with the answer. *
♥ home is where the heart is ♥
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
incifinci
post Jun 13 2015, 22:23
Post #6


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 3-December 07
From: Hungary, Budapest
Member No.: 6040
Mp3tag Version: 2.71



QUOTE (DetlevD @ Jun 13 2015, 20:30) *
I am not aware of file resp. tag-type related problems between Mp3tag and foobar, please elaborate.

DD.20150613.2030.CEST


Yes, I was not enough exact. Really, problems are mostly with handling MP3 tags in foobar, but...

When I get a new FLAC file:
1. Fill all tags in Mp3tag.
2. Merge those 6+2 tags with actions.
3. In foobar, calculate and fill in tags RG and BPM
4. In foobar convert files to mp3 (VBR V3, ~175 kbps - it's good enough for walking on streets) - I need them for my Sansa clip, for walking (with mp3: more music in same disk size, plus more accu time).
5. Again in Mp3tag: change back all merged fields, both in FLAC and MP3 files.

ID3v2.3 standard enable multiple values only in few fields. For example, in GENRE, LANGUAGE, ARRANGER, PUBLISHER - no. But, really, we MUST to use multiple genres, languages, etc.

(Yes, I know: ID3v2.4 is a little better - but it is not popular, many apps and clips can not handle it.)

In FLAC no problem with multiple values - but we yet need mp3 encoding, for example, I need it because of my Sansa clip. I must and want use multiple values, and of course, I want exactly identical tags in FLAC and MP3 variant of the same music file.

Yes, theoretically, foobar must not to manage non-standard multiple values. But really, in life, we must to use them. So, in fact, foobar MUST to manage them.

And so: I have a FLAC file with tags...
Genre1: tango
Genre2: latin
Genre3: pop

If I convert this FLAC in foobar to MP3, without merging first these tags, the resulting MP3 file, looking in Mp3tag, will have tags...
Genre1: tango;latin;pop
Genre2:
Genre3:

But if I use this merger/divider method, all will OK with mp3 multiple tags, both in Mp3tag and foobar, too.

And, of course, after writing ANY TAG of a FLAC file in foobar, foobar replaces value from PUBLISHER tag to ORGANISATION tag. These actions manage this probleme, too.

And, after writing ANY TAG of an MP3 file in foobar, foobar replaces simple track numbers (4) to complex form (4/17) - but, first, I do not like it; second, FLAC and MP3 tags will different. These actions manage this probleme, too.

This post has been edited by incifinci: Jun 16 2015, 21:55
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th August 2015 - 04:32