Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Multiple Tag Addition Feature
Mp3tag Forums > Mp3tag - International > General Discussion
TAR21
EDIT: SOLVED!!

grüß dich Florian!

i have a feature idea id like to propose.
ive been using mp3tag for a couple of months now and so far it works like a charm - thanks for that! been trying to get my library organized but its still giving me a hard time.. one thing that would make alot of work easier/solve some problems form the get go, is the ability to ADD TO a tag, multiple times. meaning: enter text into a tag; save; close file; reopen file; add more text to the same tag without overwriting the old content (keep old content wildcard*); etc
in particular: im trying to categorize my music by tempo, style, mood, 'colour' and various other characteristics - using one tag. for example: three tracks; i tag all three "summer", then i tag two of them with "acid piano"; the third one gets "hoover"; but each track gets a different "mood" - all in one tag.

is that even possible? if so, how high is the possibility of that getting implemented in one of the next releases??

and @all, how many of you would appreciate a feature like this as well??

thanks in advance.

EDIT: SOLVED!!
progprog
QUOTE (TAR21 @ Sep 24 2011, 16:09) *
is that even possible?

You can just use the "Format value" action. If you want to add onto what's already written in, for example, the MOOD tag field, you'd use:

Action: Format value
Field: Mood
Format string: %mood% added text

(If you want the new text at the beginning, it'd be: added text %mood%)

I've never felt a need for a new feature to do this, since "format value" works perfectly well.
progprog
Another option, which is probably more efficient if you're doing a lot of these: