IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Notice!

Please take a minute to check our Frequently Asked Questions. Use Search to reveal possible related topics.

Also make sure you've read the Forum Guidelines before posting in this forum.

Abbreviations: (will be specified by moderators/administrators)

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [F] Incorrect language in UI
dauma
post Nov 30 2017, 09:28
Post #1


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 30-November 17
Member No.: 24221
Mp3tag Version: 2.85



Hello.

I've selected and enabled English language in Options, but some fields shown are in Lithuanian. You can see it here:

Attached Image


Windows 10 x64
mp3tag: v2.85
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ohrenkino
post Nov 30 2017, 09:39
Post #2


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 9462
Joined: 9-December 09
From: Norddeutschland / Northern Germany
Member No.: 11458
Mp3tag Version: 2.85k



QUOTE (dauma @ Nov 30 2017, 09:28) *
Hello.

I've selected and enabled English language in Options, but some fields shown are in Lithuanian. You can see it here:

Attached Image


Windows 10 x64
mp3tag: v2.85

see this thread: https://forums.mp3tag.de/index.php?showtopic=22856
(where it was rated as "no bug")


--------------------
42 - wie war die Frage / what was the question / quelle était la question
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
poster
post Nov 30 2017, 09:39
Post #3


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 1511
Joined: 22-March 09
Member No.: 9241
Mp3tag Version: 2.85k



https://forums.mp3tag.de/index.php?showtopi...&hl=english
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dauma
post Nov 30 2017, 15:16
Post #4


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 30-November 17
Member No.: 24221
Mp3tag Version: 2.85



QUOTE (ohrenkino @ Nov 30 2017, 10:39) *
see this thread: https://forums.mp3tag.de/index.php?showtopic=22856
(where it was rated as "no bug")

Seems like installer wrongly interprets user language. At least I see a problem here:
- computer language is EN;
- user locale settings is LT (Lithuanian);
- mp3tag language is EN;
- mp3tag installs as Lithuanian;
- changing mp3tag language does not change some labels.

Maybe it looks like a feature. But what it could be, if user is englishmen on lithuanian's computer, which uses Windows in chinese with russian locale? smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ohrenkino
post Nov 30 2017, 15:34
Post #5


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 9462
Joined: 9-December 09
From: Norddeutschland / Northern Germany
Member No.: 11458
Mp3tag Version: 2.85k



This could only happen if you update an old installation.
A completely new installation creates all the labels as set by the installation language.
In that state, switch to the different language, close MP3tag and delete all the files that store user-defined columns and labels.
MP3tag will then start with the set language.
After the initial installation all labels are treated as user-defined labels and cannot be translated.


--------------------
42 - wie war die Frage / what was the question / quelle était la question
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dauma
post Nov 30 2017, 17:02
Post #6


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 30-November 17
Member No.: 24221
Mp3tag Version: 2.85



QUOTE (ohrenkino @ Nov 30 2017, 16:34) *
In that state, switch to the different language, close MP3tag and delete all the files that store user-defined columns and labels.
MP3tag will then start with the set language.

That's called workaround. User did not chose that as a setting for all languages. For solution could be label language option included.

This post has been edited by dauma: Dec 1 2017, 09:23
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ohrenkino
post Nov 30 2017, 17:13
Post #7


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 9462
Joined: 9-December 09
From: Norddeutschland / Northern Germany
Member No.: 11458
Mp3tag Version: 2.85k



QUOTE (dauma @ Nov 30 2017, 17:02) *
That's called workaround. User did not chose that as a setting for all languages. For solution could be lable language option included.

The underlying problem is: how do you translate any user-defined label into any other language?
How do you treat labels that refer to standard fields but have their own wording?

As soon as you have a personalized installation (and that starts to live once you have chosen the initial way to install) the personalized data is not touched any more.
I would not call that a workaround but respectful treatment of the user input.


--------------------
42 - wie war die Frage / what was the question / quelle était la question
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dauma
post Dec 1 2017, 08:23
Post #8


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 30-November 17
Member No.: 24221
Mp3tag Version: 2.85



QUOTE (ohrenkino @ Nov 30 2017, 18:13) *
how do you translate any user-defined label into any other language?

It's not user-defined. It's software defined. Is it so hard to understand?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ohrenkino
post Dec 1 2017, 08:52
Post #9


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 9462
Joined: 9-December 09
From: Norddeutschland / Northern Germany
Member No.: 11458
Mp3tag Version: 2.85k



QUOTE (dauma @ Dec 1 2017, 08:23) *
It's not user-defined. It's software defined. Is it so hard to understand?

I understand that it has been discussed at least twice and that it has been graded as "no bug" in each case:
https://forums.mp3tag.de/index.php?showtopic=22200
https://forums.mp3tag.de/index.php?showtopic=22856

The administrators of this forum grade the bug reports and I am no administrator.
Their decision was "no bug" and I simply supplied the service to make up for what you left out: the research as requested by the forum guidelines if there has already been a discussion on a particular topic.


--------------------
42 - wie war die Frage / what was the question / quelle était la question
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dauma
post Dec 1 2017, 09:03
Post #10


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 30-November 17
Member No.: 24221
Mp3tag Version: 2.85



Don't repeat please.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DetlevD
post Dec 1 2017, 19:54
Post #11


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 6750
Joined: 26-May 06
From: Wuppertal, Germany, Planet Earth
Member No.: 3194
Mp3tag Version: 2.85



QUOTE (dauma @ Nov 30 2017, 09:28) *
...I've selected and enabled English language in Options, but some fields shown are in Lithuanian. ...

Your picture shows edit-field labels resp. column names, which have been set up manually by the user.
Because Mp3tag does not translate any given user input into several languages, you have to do it for yourself, if you need it.

DD.20171201.1954.CET


--------------------
* Beyond that, don't ask, when you don't know what to do with the answer. *
♥ home is where the heart is ♥
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dauma
post Dec 2 2017, 10:27
Post #12


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 30-November 17
Member No.: 24221
Mp3tag Version: 2.85



QUOTE (DetlevD @ Dec 1 2017, 20:54) *
Your picture shows edit-field labels resp. column names, which have been set up manually by the user.
Because Mp3tag does not translate any given user input into several languages, you have to do it for yourself, if you need it.

DD.20171201.1954.CET

No user actions were done except language change.

2nd edit: why not to try yourself before replying?

This post has been edited by dauma: Dec 2 2017, 10:29
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
poster
post Dec 2 2017, 11:19
Post #13


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 1511
Joined: 22-March 09
Member No.: 9241
Mp3tag Version: 2.85k



QUOTE (dauma @ Dec 2 2017, 10:27) *
No user actions were done except language change.

2nd edit: why not to try yourself before replying?

The screenshot in your initial posting shows additional Tags-fields in the tag-panel, which are in Lithuanian and you have marked with a red border.
These tag-fields are not a component of a new MP3Tag-Installation and therefore have been configured by the user in
Tools - > Options - > Tag-Panel
If you configure additional tag-fields for the tag-panel (as well as for the columns) you have to choose a tag-field and give this tag-field a name. This name is user-defined and no one than the user is able to change the name (translate).

This post has been edited by poster: Dec 2 2017, 11:20
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dauma
post Dec 2 2017, 11:27
Post #14


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 30-November 17
Member No.: 24221
Mp3tag Version: 2.85



QUOTE (poster @ Dec 2 2017, 12:19) *
These tag-fields are not a component of a new MP3Tag-Installation and therefore have been configured by the user in Tools - > Options - > Tag-Panel

No. Let's try not speculate.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
poster
post Dec 2 2017, 11:43
Post #15


Member


Group: Full Members
Posts: 1511
Joined: 22-March 09
Member No.: 9241
Mp3tag Version: 2.85k



QUOTE (dauma @ Dec 2 2017, 11:27) *
No. Let's try not speculate.

That is not a speculation but a logic conclusion.
Do you see defined tag-fields there or not? This is easy to check.
A fresh complete new MP3Tag-installation (not if there are configuration files from a previous installtion) has no defined tag-fields there.

I can tell you that I change the language all the time from German to English and back, because sometimes I have to check the correct menu-items to aswer in english here.

All my tag-field-names but the self-defined change from one language to the other.
Addtional entries in the tag-menu I configured myself naturally keep the name.

This post has been edited by poster: Dec 2 2017, 11:43
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2018 - 06:47